Announcing the Writers’ Prize Winners and Book of the Year, The Home Child

Announcing the Writers' Prize Winners and Book of the Year, The Home Child by Liz Berry   The Writers' Prize 2024 Winners Media Release 28 March 2024 LIZ BERRY, ANNE ENRIGHT AND LAURA CUMMING WINNERS OF THE WRITERS’ PRIZE 2024 ANNOUNCED  In the first year since...

Win the shortlist on @thewritersprize Instagram

8 March 2024 By entering the Instagram giveaway (the “Giveaway”) you agree to these terms and conditions. The Giveaway is open to everyone, aged 18 or over, except for employees of The Writers’ Prize, their families, agencies or anyone else associated with this...
The Writers' Prize

The 2024 Writers’ Prize

21st November 2023 Media Release: The Writers’ Prize Announces Details for 2024   Now, in its tenth year, the Rathbones Folio Prize is to be relaunched as The Writers’ Prize, with three 2024 shortlists announced on January 9th and category and overall winners...

Announcing the Rathbones Folio Prize 2019 Judges

We’re delighted to announce that Kate Clanchy, Chloe Aridjis and Owen Sheers will judge the Rathbones Folio Prize 2019

Announcing: the Rathbones Folio Mentors 2018-19

Francesca Beard, Louise Doughty, Joe Dunthorne and Adam Foulds to be Rathbones Folio Mentors

The Rathbones Folio Prize 2020 Judges

Paul Farley

Paul Farley (chair) was born in Liverpool and studied at the Chelsea School of Art. He has published four collections of poetry, and also written non-fiction books, including Edgelands (with Michael Symmons Roberts), as well as editing a selection of John Clare’s poetry. A Fellow of the Royal Soci- ety of Literature and a frequent broadcaster, he has received numerous awards, including Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year, the Whitbread Poetry Award and the E.M. Forster Award from the American Academy of Arts & Letters. His latest collection, The Mizzy, is published this year.

Nikita Lalwani

Nikita Lalwani was born in Rajasthan, India, and raised in Cardiff, Wales. Her first novel, Gifted, was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize, shortlisted for the Costa Award and won the Desmond Elliot Prize (after which she donated her prize money to the human rights organisation, Liberty). Her next novel, The Village, was also widely acclaimed, and her new novel, You People, will be published by Viking Penguin in June 2020. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

Ross Raisin

Ross Raisin was born in West Yorkshire. His first novel, God’s Own Country, was published in 2008 and was shortlisted for nine literary awards, including the Guardian First Book Award and the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize. In 2009 Ross Raisin was named the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year and in 2013 he was selected as one of Granta’s Best of Young British writers. Two more celebrated novels,Waterline and A Natural, have followed. Ross is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

The Winner of the Rathbones Folio Prize 2019:

Raymond Antrobus, for ‘The Perseverance’

<hr class="fade-2">

The Winner of the Rathbones Folio Prize 2018: Richard Lloyd Parry, for Ghosts of The Tsunami

<hr class="fade-2">



Richard Lloyd Parry wins the 2018 Rathbones Folio Prize with Ghosts of The Tsunami (Jonathan Cape), a book that has “depth and reach to close the gaps between other nations, other cultures”. Read the full press release here.

<hr class="fade-2">

A Bright Future for the Rathbones Folio Prize

<hr class="fade-2">


We’re delighted to announce an expanded partnership with our sponsors Rathbones Investment Management, which secures the future of the Prize, Mentorships and Sessions until at least 2023. The renewed and significantly increased sponsorship by Rathbones not only enables us to step up our charitable objectives, it also means that the value of the Prize has increased, with this year’s winner set to receive a cheque for £30,000.

2019 Rathbones Folio Prize Winner

The winner of the Rathbones Folio Prize 2019 is Raymond Antrobus, for ‘The Perseverance’. In a first for the Prize, Alice Jolly was named runner up, for ‘Mary Ann Sate, Imbecile’.

About The Academy

The character and qualities of the prize are shaped by The Folio Prize Academy, an international group of people, primarily writers and critics, who are immersed in the world of books.

The Academy will play a decisive role in selecting titles to be considered for the shortlist, and each year…

Read more…