We are delighted to announce that the Rathbones Folio Prize Book of the Year is

Constructing a Nervous System by Margo Jefferson (Non-Fiction)

Jefferson said: I feel very lucky to be a non-fiction writer. […] This is a Writers’ Prize. Nothing is more precious than knowing that other writers take their time, their energy and imagination to really appreciate what I – what me, what every writer in this room – have tried and will keep trying to do. Thank you, thank you and thank you!

Read the full acceptance speech here

Category Winner Fiction: Scary Monsters by Michelle de Kretser

Category Winner Poetry: Quiet by Victoria Adukwei Bulley

Press Release available here

The Rathbones Folio Prize 2023 Shortlists


The Passengers by Will Ashon

In Love by Amy Bloom

The Escape Artist by Jonathan Freedland

Constructing a Nervous System by Margo Jefferson – WINNER, NON-FICTION CATEGORY & BOOK OF THE YEAR

The Social Distance Between Us by Darren McGarvey


Glory by NoViolet Bulawayo

Scary Monsters by Michelle de Kretser – WINNER, FICTION CATEGORY

Pure Colour by Sheila Heti

Emergency by Daisy Hildyard

Lucy by the Sea by Elizabeth Strout


Quiet by Victoria Adukwei Bulley – WINNER, POETRY CATEGORY

Ephemeron by Fiona Benson

Cane, Corn & Gully by Safiya Kamaria Kinshasa

England’s Green by Zaffar Kunial

Manorism by Yomi Ṣode