The Category Winners and the Rathbones Folio Prize Book of the Year will be announced in a ceremony at the British Library on Monday 27 March. The shortlisted authors will take part in events across the country as well as an evening of shortlist sessions at the British Library on March 26th.

Download the press release here.


Will Ashon – The Passengers (Faber)

Amy Bloom In Love (Granta)

Jonathan Freedland – The Escape Artist (John Murray)

Margo Jefferson – Constructing a Nervous System (Granta)

Darren McGarvey – The Social Distance Between Us (Ebury)


NoViolet Bulawayo – Glory (Chatto & Windus)

Michelle de Kretser – Scary Monsters (Allen & Unwin)

Sheila Heti – Pure Colour (Harvill Secker)

Daisy Hildyard – Emergency (Fitzcarraldo)

Elizabeth Strout – Lucy by the Sea (Viking)


Victoria Adukwei Bulley – Quiet (Faber)

Fiona Benson – Ephemeron (Jonathan Cape)

Safiya Kamaria Kinshasa – Cane, Corn & Gully (Out-Spoken Press)

Zaffar Kunial – England’s Green (Faber)

Yomi Sode – Manorism (Penguin Poetry)