

21<sup>ST</sup> November 2023

## Media Release: The Writers' Prize Announces Details for 2024

Now, in its tenth year, the Rathbones Folio Prize is to be relaunched as The Writers' Prize, with three 2024 shortlists announced on January 9<sup>th</sup> and category and overall winners announced in March.

A 7-year partnership with Rathbones Investment Management came to an end in 2023, but thanks to the generosity of a number of private individuals, book industry-related businesses, members of the Folio Academy and Trusts, the prize will go ahead with the same prize pot of £36,000 (£30,000 for the overall Book of the Year and £2,000 for category winners in Fiction, Non-Fiction, Poetry).

In a new development, the prize will be run without judges this year, and instead the 350+ members of the Folio Academy will determine the shortlists and the winners. A call for nominations is out now, and three shortlists of three titles each will be announced on January 9<sup>th</sup>. Academy members will then be able to read the shortlisted titles, thanks to a partnership with NetGalley, before casting their final votes for category winners and overall 'Writers' Prize Book of the Year'.

The Writers' Prize is open to all works of literature, regardless of form, published in the English language in the UK in 2023.

Previous winners of the overall prize are Margo Jefferson for Constructing a Nervous System (2023), Colm Tóibín for The Magician (2022), Carmen Maria Machado for In the Dream House (2021), Valeria Luiselli for Lost Children Archive (2020), Raymond Antrobus for The Perseverance (2019), Richard Lloyd Parry for Ghosts of the Tsunami (2018), Hisham Matar for The Return (2017), Akhil Sharma for Family Life (2015) and George Saunders for Tenth of December (2014).

The Writers' Prize is the flagship of the Literature Prize Foundation (aka the Folio Academy Foundation), which also runs the Folio Academy Mentorships for aspiring young writers. Awarded for literary excellence, it is the only international, English-language award nominated by an academy of writers who are at the forefront of the literary community. The prize announced a new format in 2023, featuring three separate shortlists, to address the changing landscape of literary prizes, spotlight more authors, and offer readers and retailers a clearer, broader range of recommendations.

For further details please contact Minna.Fry@thewritersprize.com